I’ve been in the business of gleaning lately – gathering wisdom from the young and old is my mission.  Something about this 25th birthday has made me very introspective.  While sitting at a lunch table with some stately older gentleman on Wednesday, I peppered them with questions about life and love.  Here’s what they had to say.

“Well if you think about it, you’ve probably lived more than ¼ of your life.  Most people don’t live to 100.  Think about that.”

“How did I know she was the one?  She drove me damn crazy that’s how.”

“Why should we be gentlemen?!  You girls want it all.  You want all this independence AND you want us to open doors.  I opened the door for a lady with an armful of parcels one day.  She looked right at me and said WHAT ARE YOU DOING?! So I dropped that door and let it slam on her.  She dropped the parcels.  Never again will I open a door for a lady!” - I can't even talk about it.

“Who says there aren’t gentlemen in New Zealand?  I open the door for my wife when we’re goin to unfamiliar places.  That way I can check to make sure everything is safe.”  Just thinking out loud here, but doesn’t that mean she walks in before you??

Maybe these little nuggets weren't exactly what I was aiming for, but they certainly brought some laughs into my Wednesday.  Later, a baritone “happy birthday” was a fantastic way to start my birthday eve.  

6/1/2012 12:36:13 am

Hahaha. I love that last one, especially with your commentary. Hope you had a great birthday love!

Reply



Leave a Reply.